Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Khan Knight Riders or Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR Team

A. India Players
Gautam Gambhir – $2.4million (approx Rs 11.04 crore)
Yusuf Pathan – $2.1million (Rs 9.66 crore)
Manoj Tiwary – $475,000
Lakshmipathy Balaji – $500,000
Jaidev Unadkat – $250,000

B. Foreigners:
Jacques Kallis – $1.1 million. (Rs 5.06 crore)
Shakib al Hasan – $425,000
Brett Lee – $400,000
Eoin Morgan – $350,000
Brad Haddin – $325,000
Ryan ten Doeschate – $150,000
James Pattinson – $100,000

C. Uncapped players:
Laxmi Ratan Shukla – Bengal – All rounder
Iqbal Abdulla – Mumbai – Bowler
Manvinder Singh Bisla – Harayana – Batsman
Rajat Bhatia – Delhi – All rounder
Shreevats Goswami – Bengal – Wicketkeeper
Mohammad Shami Ahmed – Bengal – Bowler
Pradeep Sangwan – Delhi – Bowler
Sarabjit Ladda – Punjab – Bowler

Eden Gardens went half full (or half empty) on KKR's first home match and those present were mostly on complimentary tickets. Although, last year and in the first season (second season was held in South Africa) KKR fared badly but still Eden was almost always full.

The reasons could be:
1. The prince of Kolkata was ignored in the auction and KKR without Sourav Ganguly is more like Khan Knight Riders than Kolkata Knight Riders.
2. No connect with the city (owned by a group of people who have no connect with the city, only 1 player from Bengal in the playing XI).
3. First day of the week 8 p.m. match (Bangalore had an 8 p.m. middle of the week game versus Mumbai Indians and again full house)
4. Elections around the corner (Chennai too has elections but stadium was almost full).
5. Cricket fatigue or overdose of cricket (all matches in all venues would have been affected had this one been a factor).

KKR team management already has cut down on the price of the tickets for the next matches of KKR as a desperate measure to bring in the crowds. One may expect more of complimentary tickets going out and even contests (with questions as difficult as "what is the capital of West Bengal") on the FM doling out tickets of KKR matches, or other innovative techniques after all desperate times call for desperate measures and KKR management has already started taking desperate measures.

KKR might do well this season and even end up in a podium finish, but it definitely has lost the hearts of the city it claims to represent.

Sunday, January 9, 2011

DLF IPL Teams 2011

Chennai Super Kings Players List
MS Dhoni (retained)
Suresh Raina (retained)
M Vijay (retained)
Albie Morkel (retained)
Michael Hussey
Wriddhiman Saha
Dwayne Bravo
Doug Bollinger
R. Ashwin
S Badrinath
Scott Styris
Ben Helfenhaus
Jogindar Sharma
Nuwan Kulasekara
Sudeep Tyagi
Suraj Randiv
George Bailey
Faf du Plessis

Deccan Chargers Players List
Kevin Pietersen
Cameroon White
Kumar Sangakkara
JP Duminy
Shikhar Dhawan
Ishant Sharma
Dale Steyn
Pragyan Ojha
Amit Mishra
Daniel Christian
Manpreet Gony
Chris Lynn
Juan Theron
Michael Lumb

Delhi Dare Devils Players List
Virender Sehwag (retained)
Irfan Pathan
David Warner
Naman Ojha
James Hopes
Mornie Morkel
Aaron Finch
Mathew Wade
Ajit Agarkar
Ashok Dinda
Umesh Yadav
R Von Der Merwe
Venugopal Rao
Andrew McDonald
Traves birt
Robert Frylinck
Colin Ingram

Kochi Players List
Mahela Jayawardene
VVS Laksman
Brendon McCullam
RP Singh
Parthiv Patel
Ravindra Jadeja,
Steven Smith
Muttiah Muralitharan
Ramesh Powar
Brad Hodge
T Perera
Vinay Kumar
S O’Keefe
Owais Shah
Michael Klinger
John Hastings

KKR Players List
Gautam Gambhir
Yusuf Pathan
Jacques Kallis
Brad Haddin
Shakib Al Hasan
Brett Lee
Eon Morgan
Manoj Tiwary
L Balaji
Jaidev Unadkat
Ryan Ten Doeschate
James Pattinson

Kings XI Punjab Players List
Adam Gilchrist
Shaun Marsh
David Hussey
Dinesh Karthik
Stuart Broad
Abhishek Nayar
Praveen Kumar
Ryan Harris
Piyush Chawla
Dimitri Mascarenhas
Nathan Rimmington

Mumbai Indians Players List
Sachin Tendulkar (retained)
Harbhajan Singh (retained)
Kieron Pollard (retained)
Lasith Malinga (retained)
Rohit Sharma
Andrew Symonds
David Jacobs
James Franklin
Munaf Patel
Clint Mckay
Aiden Blizzard
Moises Henriques

Pune Warriors Players List
Yuvraj Singh
Graham Smith
Robin Uthappa
Tim Pane
Angelo Mathews
Ashish Nehra
Callum Ferguson
Wayne Parnell
Mitchell Marsh
Jerome Taylor
Alfonso Thomas
Jesse Ryder
Murali Kartik

Rajasthan Royals Players List
Shane Warne (retained)
Shane Watson (retained)
Ross Taylor
Rahul Dravid
Johan Botha
Paul Collingwood
Shaun Tait
Pankaj Singh

Royal Challengers Bangalore Players List
Virat Kohli (retained)
Tillakartane Dilshan
Zaheer Khan
AB de Villiers
Daniel Vettori
Saurabh Tiwary
Dirk Nannes
C Pujara
C Langevelot
Luke Pomersbach
Abhimanyu Mithun
Johan Van Der Wath
Rilee Rossouw
Nuwan Pradeep
Jonathan Vandiar
Mohd. Kaif

Almost $85 millions were invested (or should I say splurged) on these players and it is anybody's guess how many of the above teams can make a profit in the next few years. In addition to the players cost, additional moneys are involved for purchasing the teams (payable yearly), the support team (viz, batting, bowling, fielding coaches, physios and the list goes on), mascots (the Depika's and Katrina's of the world). Of the listed companies in the IPL business (Deccan Chronicle Holdings, GMR, India Cements), Deccan was the most frugal (although seems to have splurged on Christian).